Dr. Charman J. Akina Memorial Scholarship

Dr. Charman J. Akina 

Dr. Charman J. Akina was a passionate physician and humanitarian who demonstrated steadfast commitment to serving the people of Hawai‘i throughout his lifetime. After retiring from private practice, Dr. Akina joined the Waimānalo Health Center in 1993 to provide his medical expertise and knowledge. He volunteered countless hours to improve the health of the community, first as a physician and later as the medical director. 

He was a great healer who served with passion and aloha. He encouraged the heart and spirit, empowering individuals to take charge of their health.

Dr. Akina’s humble leadership was instrumental in building the foundation of Waimānalo Health Center and shaping its values of mālama, pono, and ʻohana. His lasting impact still inspires today, his gentle spirit of aloha embracing our staff, patients, and the community of Waimānalo.



Dr. Charman J. Akina Memorial Scholarship

With the generosity of donors, the Waimānalo Health Center established the Dr. Charman J. Akina Memorial Scholarship Fund in 2019 to carry on his spirit of aloha for the Waimānalo community. 

The scholarship is managed by the Hawaiʻi Community Foundation.

APPLY: Please visit the Common Application page to complete an online scholarship application.

Learn more about scholarship criteria and application information by visiting Hawaiʻi Community Foundation Grants and Scholarships page.

DONATE: To donate to the scholarship fund, click here. You can also visit the Hawaiʻi Community Foundation Give Directly Online page and use the search field to select the Dr. Charman J. Akina Memorial Scholarship Fund.

Questions about the scholarship? Please contact the Hawaiʻi Community Foundation. Frequently asked questions and more information can be found at the HCF Scholarship FAQs page.



Mahalo nui loa to the following donors for their generous contributions toward the Dr. Charman J. Akina Memorial Scholarship Fund.

  • Dr. Gary Okamoto
  • Hawai‘i Community Foundation
  • Harold K.L. Castle Foundation
  • Martin H. Nesbitt and Dr. Anita Blanchard
  • Dr. Mary Oneha
  • Ohuokalani Charitable Foundation
  • Victoria S. and Bradley L. Geist Foundation
  • Barack Obama